Waffles & New Beginnings.

 

Guys, the fattie in me has finally risen. If you know me, you know I’m an absolute sucker for treats and for the longest time, being one of those “kula kwa macho” type of people, I’ve lived in torture seeing an array of yummy yummy things go down my feed courtesy of all the food related Instagram pages I follow.

That was a really long sentence 😀 DĂ©solĂ©.

You know, if it was just those pages from abroad dishing out recipes, kina “Tasty” and all, I’d be fine. I could live with that, but no. Half of them, believe it or not, are actually Kenyan. Yup, there are actually Kenyan citizens out there who unlike me, honor their mental commitment to trying out new joints that peak their interest, as opposed to food stalking on the internet and presuming that it’s probably going to be expensive anyway. Good job guys, I’ve lived vicariously through you for the longest time. My inner fattie shall forever be in your debt.

Recently however, I discovered that most of these pop up’s, cafĂ©s and restaurants I see all over the place aren’t nearly as pricey as I mapped them out to be. You can imagine my surprise when I looked up the menu to an authentic French Boulangerie here in Nairobi and found that I can have coffee and a filling accompaniment for under 1000 bob. Mind, blown. So, with immediate effect, I too will begin going on foodventures, searching high and wide for affordable meal spots around town and publicly stating my discontinuity as a behind the scenes Instagram food stalker. So help me God.

Source: Connect Coffee Rosters Kenya.

Meal: Strawberry Waffle & Caramel Macchiato.

Cost: Waffle – Ksh 850  Macchiato – Ksh 350  Total –  Ksh 1,200

Ratings: Waffle – 8/10  Macchiato -7/10

Location: Off Riverside drive, Chiromo road. Riverfront Building.

From the entrance, Connect Coffee Roasters gives off an such a nice vibe. It’s one of those places where you can smell the yummy baked goodness from outside the door. Guys, they had me at hello. The staff was so warm and welcoming, you could tell it was genuine. They were actually glad you came in and not just smiling and taking orders because that’s what they were trained to do. They’re the kind of people that make you want to buy that brownie you’d normally dismiss on sight cause it’s too expensive, basically because they’ve put you in such a chipper mood. Also, as I and every other person I saw leave before me left, the staff said thank you for coming. All the way to the person at the counter which cemented the good mood they’d put me in with their service and made for a definite future comeback. A+ for ambiance.

The café itself is quite casual with a touch of industrial design. It’s not just your typical conventional dining setup. The interior decoration has been laid out in such a way that the café isn’t at all crowded and has this intimate feel to it. It’s the perfect place to have a casual coffee date or basically get some work done on your laptop while you grab a bite. Also, it photographs beautifully. You won’t admit it but I know with most of you, when your meal and surrounding location looks good, you take a picture. It’s allowed..there’s tons of aesthetic pleasure.

Now let’s get to the meal. All things, considered, I was impressed. I walked in and made my order before I sat, as per their protocol and less than five minutes later they’d already brewed and served me my Caramel Macchiato which they personally and in the moment hand brewed for me. Impressive or nah? Well, I’ve never had a Macchiato before so I have nothing to compare it to but if my prolonged and slightly knowledgeable experience in coffee drinking  is anything to go by, that was some good coffee. Stars all across. Then came the waffle. The oh so famous waffle I’d heard soo much about. It took a bit longer to arrive which quite frankly, I didn’t mind considering the prep time it must’ve taken to make but guys, it was beautiful. So beautiful that I decided to start food blogging. Yani, it was that life changing. After a couple (a lot) of snaps of the masterpiece that lay before me, I took my first bite and it just continued changing my life. It was sweet but not to the point where it felt like diabetes waiting to happen. The strawberries and moderately sugared waffle balanced out the candied taste brought on by the chocolate & caramel syrup and two generous scoops of ice cream that came with it. The only reason I’m giving it an 8/10 is because there was also a grape waffle on the menu that might be ten times more amazing so I’m waiting to compare.

Generally, it was a lovely experience being there. The food, the people, the atmosphere, amazing. All stars. Well in Connect Coffee Roasters. Well in. Pay them a visit sometime and let me know how your experience goes. If you happen to come through and find me making another appearance to try out the grape waffle, come say hi.

Also guys, they have sushi!!! How amazing is that? I could move in I swear.

Kay, bye 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. shemobara says:

    You had to mention sushi😂😂😂 This is quite the beautiful piece❀
    Now I also want that strawberry waffle OmlđŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nomtherapy says:

      Hahaha yes 😂😂 Sushi is definitely my kryptonite. Gracias bubba. You should totally drop by soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

